Joint Research Centre


As the Commission’s in-house science service, the Joint Research Centre’s mission is to provide EU policies with independent, evidence-based scientific and technical support throughout the whole policy cycle. Working in close cooperation with policy Directorates-General, the JRC addres­ses key societal challenges while stimulating in­novation through developing new methods, tools and standards, and sharing its know-how with the Member States, the scientific community and in­ternational partners.


The JRC, with a staff of more than 3000, is allocated an annual budget of around €356 million for direct support to EU institutions from the Seventh Framework Programme (FP7). It earns up to a further 15% through contracts (participation in collaborative projects, technology transfer and work for third parties - including industry and regional authorities).

The JRC is spread all over Europe and consists of seven institutes:

  • Institute for Reference Materials and Measurements (Geel, BE)
  • Institute for Transuranium Elements (Karlsruhe, DE; Ispra, IT)
  • Institute for Energy and Transport (Petten, NL; Ispra, IT)
  • Institute for the Protection and the Security of the Citizen (Ispra, IT)
  • Institute for Environment and Sustainability (Ispra, IT)
  • Institute for Health and Consumer Protection (Ispra, IT)

Institute for Prospective Technological Studies (Seville, SP)

How to apply

All information on job opportunities at the Joint Research Centre can be found on the JRC website.