W&T7: Energy, Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Mechanics

The scope of the Expertpanel W&T7 is fundamental engineering research targeting in content and/or methodology electrical-, electronic-, and mechanical systems and processes. The final outcome of the research is fundamental and innovative knowledge with a long term applicability objective.

More specific:

  • Micro- and nano-electronics (incl. EMC and power management)
  • Circuits and systems (incl. CAD)
  • Electronics with advanced materials
  • Opto-electronics and photonics
  • Telecommunication (hardware and transmission)
  • Bio-electronics and biomedical systems and engineering
  • System identification and control (incl. dynamics and modal analysis)
  • Power engineering (incl. power electronics and nuclear technology)
  • Renewable energy: generation and energy conversion systems
  • Control engineering
  • Robotics, sensors and actuators
  • Mechanical and mechatronic design, engineering and optimization, life cycle analysis
  • Embedded systems
  • High frequency techniques
  • Signal processing (speech, image)
  • Electromagnetism and acoustics
  • Engineering mechanics (structural dynamics, vibro-acoustics, multibody dynamics), reliability
  • Micro engineering and precision engineering
  • Manufacturing technology and engineering (incl. computer integrated manufacturing)
  • Tribology
  • Combustion technology and fire dynamics
  • Thermal and fluid engineering
  • Technical thermodynamics





Thienpont Hugo

Vrije Universiteit Brussel



Gielen Georges

KU Leuven



Baets Roeland

Universiteit Gent

Canavero Flavio

Politecnico di Torino (IT)

Carvalho Nuno

Universidade de Aveiro (PT)

Chatzopoulos Alkis

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (GR)

Desmet Wim

KU Leuven

Kerschen Gaetan

Université de Liège

Laschi Cecilia

Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna (IT)

Mordijck Saskia

The College of William & Mary (US)

Offerhaus Herman

Universiteit Twente (NL)

Roekaerts Dirk

Technische Universiteit Delft (NL)

Schelkens Peter

Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Staelens Steven

Universiteit Antwerpen

Tomiyama Tetsuo

Cranfield University (GB)

Vandevelde Lieven

Universiteit Gent

Vermang Bart


Wymeersch Henk

Chalmers University of Technology